Skip to content

Do I have to store my commercial tenant’s property after an eviction?

Connecticut has unique laws when it comes to landlords and tenants. This comes into play when you need to evict a commercial tenant. When you evict a tenant, they may leave behind property, especially if the eviction is tied to a failing financial status. Once you take possession of the property, you then have to decide what to do with the items the tenant left behind. It is essential that you understand what the law says so you do not end up incurring liability unnecessarily.

The Connecticut General Assembly explains that you must hold and store any property left behind by a commercial tenant for 15 days after the eviction date. During this time, keep track of any expenses for storing and removing the property as the tenant must pay those expenses when retrieving the property.

If, after 15 days, the tenant does not collect the property, then you can dispose of it legally. Depending on the situation, you can give the tenant more leeway if you like, but the law only requires 15 days. After that, you are entitled to proceed as you see fit in dealing with the property.

You also can choose how you will store the items. As mentioned, the tenant must pay storage when he or she comes to claim the items. This is part of the process of getting the property back.

This information is for education and is not legal advice.