Reminder – Connecticut employers must begin paying $13 per hour to their employees, effective August 1, 2021. For hotel and restaurant employees who normally receive sufficient gratuities, the employer must pay at least $6.38 per hour ($8.23 for bartenders) under the new minimum wage, but the employee must still make at least $13 per hour including tips and employers must follow recordkeeping and reporting obligations related to the tip credit.
The increase is part of a series of increases designed to raise Connecticut’s minimum wage to $15 per hour by June 1, 2023. These increases occur every 11 months, so the next increase is to $14 per hour on July 1, 2022.
Employers should take this opportunity to ensure that their workplace posters are up to date and reflect the new minimum wage. The posters are available from the Connecticut Department of Labor at http://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/gendocs/labor_posters.htm.
Our team of labor and employment attorneys can assist employers in adjusting to the new minimum wage requirements and ensuring compliance with all applicable labor and employment laws.